Courses of Study 2018-2019 
    Dec 14, 2018  
Courses of Study 2018-2019

Society for the Humanities

In the College of Arts and Sciences .

Course Offerings  

Paul Fleming, Taylor Family Director

Cornell’s Society for the Humanities was established in 1966 as one of the first humanities institutes in North America. Located in the historic home of Cornell’s first president, Andrew Dickson White, the Society annually awards fellowships for research in the humanities. Our fellowships bring distinguished visiting Society Fellows together with Cornell Faculty and Graduate Student Fellows to pursue research on an interdisciplinary focal theme. The theme for 2018-2019 is “AUTHORITY”.  

Fellows offer experimental, innovative seminars on their research topics. These 4000-level courses are open to graduate students and advanced undergraduates. Those interested in auditing a course should contact the instructor for permission. The Society for the Humanities does not offer a major or a minor.


The 2018-2019 “AUTHORITY” Fellows are:

Jennifer D. Carlson, Energy Humanities, Rice University

Avigail Eisenberg, Political Science, University of Victoria

J. Daniel Elam, Comparative Literature, University of Hong Kong

Damián Fernández, History, Northern Illinois University

Alexander Livingston, Government, Cornell University

Kate Manne, Philosophy, Cornell University

Andrew McKenzie-McHarg, History, University of Cambridge

Jessica Ratcliff, Science & Technology Studies, Cornell University

Dehanza Rogers, Performing & Media Arts, Cornell University

David Rojas, Latin American Studies, Bucknell University

Aaron Schuster, Philosophy, Society for the Humanities

Klaus K. Yamamoto-Hammering, Anthropology, Society for the Humanities

Klaus K. Yamamoto-Hammering, Anthropology, Society for the Humanities