Courses of Study 2017-2018 
    Sep 25, 2023  
Courses of Study 2017-2018 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


In the School of Industrial and Labor Relations .

Course Offerings  

The University Department of Economics offers courses within the ILR curriculum that deal with labor markets, the economics of education, and socio-economic institutions. These courses cover the institutional arrangements, terms, and conditions under which workers supply their labor, firms demand their labor, and governmental institutions interact with that transaction. They also cover the economics of education at all levels. Faculty members are especially concerned with understanding the workings of labor markets and the effects of various public policies. The topics in courses and research include analyses of the labor force, employment and unemployment, wages and related terms of employment, education, income distribution, income security programs, health and safety in industry, retirement, pensions and social security, economic aspects of collective bargaining, and economic demography. In addition, the Department of Economics offers the full range of courses in microeconomics, macroeconomics, econometrics, and all of the applied areas of the discipline. ILR students may enroll in any course offered by the Department of Economics.


L. Blume, chair; R. Smith, labor econ coord.; S. Coate, director of undergraduate studies; Y. Hong, director of graduate studies; J. Abowd; C. Barrett, L. Barseghyan, P. Barwick, K. Basu, M. Battaglini, G. Besharov, F. Blau, G. Boyer, J. Caunedo, J. Cawley, T. Denti, D. Easley, R. Ehrenberg, L. Falkson, G. Fields, K. Hallock, G. Hay, J.F. Houde, C. Huckfeldt, R. Hutchens, G. Jakubson, R. Jarrow, L. Kahn, R. Kanbur,  G. Karolyi, D. Kenkel, N. Kiefer, C. Lim, T. Lyons, D. McKee, T. Mitra, F. Molinari, K. Nimark, T. O’Donoghue, M. O’Hara, E. Patacchini, E. Prasad, E. Riehl, B. Salcedo, K. Shell, J. Stoye, M. Taschereau-Dumouchel, M. Thomas, S. Thomas, M. Troshkin, L. Vilhuber, J. Wissink. Emeritus: R. Arsonson, T. E. Davis, M. Majumdar, R. Masson, P. D. McClelland, R. E. Schuler, E. Thorbecke, J. Vanek, H. Y. Wan, Jr.