Courses of Study 2022-2023 
    Jun 03, 2023  
Courses of Study 2022-2023

Program for Andrew D. White Professors-at-Large


114b Day Hall
(607) 255-0832

The program has its origins in Cornell’s early history. Andrew D. White, the first president of Cornell University, inaugurated the position of nonresident professor, to be held by eminent scholars, scientists, and intellectuals who periodically visit the university for the stated purpose of “contributing to the intellectual and cultural life of the university.”

Toward this end, Andrew D. White Professors-at-Large (ADW-PAL) make 2-3 formal visits to campus during their appointment to engage in a variety of activities including public lectures, ongoing courses, and collaborative research, as well as hold office hours for undergraduate and graduate students. Professors-at-Large serve for a six-year term and are considered full members of the Cornell faculty.

A.D. White Professors-at-Large by Term

Term Ending 2022

  • Andrew Dobson – Professor of Ecology, Wildlife Disease and Conservation, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Princeton University
  • Wynton Marsalis – Musician, composer, bandleader, educator, and principal co-founder of Jazz at Lincoln Center
  • Margaret Martonosi – Professor of Computer Science, Department of Computer Science, Princeton University; Assistant Director for Computer and Information Science and Engineering, National Science Foundation (NSF)

Term Ending 2023

  • Xu Bing – Professor and Director of Academic Committee, China’s Central Academy of Fine Arts, fine artist
  • John Rickford – Professor of Linguistics, J.E. Wallace Sterling Professor of the Humanities, Professor of Education (by courtesy), and Bass University Fellow in Undergraduate Education, Stanford University
  • Brinda Somaya – Architect, Mumbai, India

Term Ending 2024     

  • Keri Putnam – Former CEO, Sundance Institute
  • Stephen Quake – Lee Otterson Professor of Bioengineering and Applied Physics, Stanford University; co-President, Chan Zuckerberg Biohub
  • Theda Skocpol – Victor S. Thomas Professor of Government and Sociology, Harvard University

Term Ending 2025

  • Martín Capparós – Argentine author, writer, and narrative journalist
  • Jordan Ellenberg – John D. MacArthur of Mathematics; Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor of Mathematics, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Bram Govaerts – Director General a.i., International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT)
  • Tayari Jones – Professor of English and Creative Writing, Emory University, novelist
  • Steven Levitsky – David Rockefeller Professor of Latin American Studies; Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Lynn Meskell – Penn Integrates Knowledge (PIK) Professor; Richard D. Green Professor of Anthropology, School of Arts and Sciences; and Professor in the Graduate Program in Historic Preservation, Weitzman School of Design, University of Pennsylvania
  • Carl Wieman – DRC Chair in Engineering; Professor of Physics; Professor in the Graduate School of Education, Stanford University

Term Ending 2026

  • James Balog – Environmentalist, scientist, photographer, and filmmaker
  • Oskar Eustis – Artistic Director, The Public Theater/New York Shakespeare Festival; Professor of Dramatic Writing and Arts and Public Policy, New York University
  • Dawn Upshaw – Soprano, Founding Artistic Director, Bard College-Conservatory’s Graduate Vocal Arts Program

Term Ending 2027

  • Dr. May Berenbaum – Swanlund Chair of Entomology, Department of Entomology; Professor, Department of Biology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Dr. Ellen Rothenberg – Distinguished Professor of Biology, California Institute of Technology

Formal Campus Residencies 2022-2023

  • Xu Bing (Arts) – September 12-16, 2022
  • Brinda Somaya (Arts) – October 24-28, 2022
  • Keri Putnam (Arts) – November 14-18, 2022
  • Dawn Upshaw (Arts) – February 20-24, 2023
  • Jordan Ellenberg (Physical Sciences) – March 13-17, 2023
  • May Berenbaum (Life Sciences) – April 10-14, 2023