Courses of Study 2021-2022 
    Nov 28, 2021  
Courses of Study 2021-2022

Program for Andrew D. White Professors-at-Large


114b Day Hall
(607) 255-0832

The program has its origins in Cornell’s early history. Andrew D. White, the first president of Cornell University, inaugurated the position of nonresident professor, to be held by eminent scholars, scientists, and intellectuals who periodically visit the university for the stated purpose of “contributing to the intellectual and cultural life of the university.”

Toward this end, Andrew D. White Professors-at-Large make several formal visits to campus during their appointment to engage in a variety of activities including public lectures, ongoing courses, and collaborative research, as well as hold office hours for undergraduate and graduate students. Professors-at-Large serve for a six-year term and are full members of the faculty when in residence.

Professors-at-Large by Term

Term Ending 2021

  • Bruno Latour – Professor at the Institut d’Etudes Politiques de Paris (France), philosopher, anthropologist, and sociologist
  • David Stevenson – Marvin J. Goldberger Professor of Planetary Science, California Institute of Technology

Term Ending 2022

  • Andrew Dobson – Professor of Ecology, Princeton University
  • Wynton Marsalis - Musician, composer, bandleader, educator, and principal co-founder of Jazz at Lincoln Center
  • Margaret Martonosi – Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, Princeton University

Term Ending 2023     

  • Xu Bing - Professor and Director of Academic Committee, China’s Central Academy of Fine Arts, fine artist
  • John Rickford – Professor of Linguistics, J.E. Wallace Sterling Professor of the Humanities, Professor of Education (by courtesy), and Bass University Fellow in Undergraduate Education, Stanford University
  • Theda Skocpol - Victor S. Thomas Professor of Government and Sociology, Harvard University
  • Brinda Somaya – Architect, Mumbai, India

Term Ending 2024     

  • Steven Levitsky – Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Keri Putnam – CEO, Sundance Institute
  • Stephen Quake – Lee Otterson Professor of Bioengineering and Applied Physics, Stanford University, and co-president, Chan Zuckerberg Biohub

Term Ending 2025

  • Martin Capparos – Argentine author, writer and narrative journalist
  • Jordan Ellenburg – Mathematics scholar and world-class communicator
  • Bram Govaerts – Director, Integrated Development Program and Regional Representative for the Americas at the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center
  • Tayari Jones – Professor of English and of Creative Writing, Emory University, novelist
  • Lynn Meskell  – Professor of Humanities and Sciences, Department of Anthropology, Stanford University
  • Carl Wieman – DRC Chair in Engineering, Professor of Physics and of Graduate School of Education, Stanford University

Term Ending 2026

  • James Balog – Environmentalist, Scientist, Photographer, and Filmaker
  • Oskar Eustis - Artistic Director, The Public Theater/New York Shakespeare Festival; Professor of Dramatic Writing and Arts and Public Policy, New York University
  • Dawn Upshaw - Soprano, Founding Artistic Director, Bard College-Conservatory’s Graduate Vocal Arts Program

Formal Campus Residencies 2021-2022

  • Carl Wieman (Physical Sciences) – September 27-October 2, 2021
  • Martin Caparrós (Humanities) - October 18-22, 2021
  • Wynton Marsalis (Arts) - October 31 - November 6, 2021
  • Bram Govaerts (Life Sciences) - March 14-18, 2022
  • Lynn Meskell (Social Sciences) - April 18-22, 2022
  • John Rickford (Social Sciences) - May 2-6, 2022