Courses of Study 2021-2022 
    Nov 30, 2023  
Courses of Study 2021-2022 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


In the School of Industrial and Labor Relations .

Course Offerings  

The University Department of Economics offers courses within the ILR curriculum that deal with labor markets, the economics of education, and socio-economic institutions and policies. These courses cover the institutional arrangements, terms and conditions under which workers supply their labor, firms demand for labor, and how governmental institutions interact with labor-market transactions. They also cover the economics of education at all levels. Faculty members are especially concerned with understanding the workings of labor markets and the effects of various public policies. The topics in courses and research include analyses of the labor force, employment and unemployment, wages and related terms of employment, education, income distribution, discrimination, immigration, income security programs, workplace health and safety, retirement, and economic aspects of collective bargaining. In addition, the Department of Economics offers the full range of courses in microeconomics, macroeconomics, econometrics, and all of the applied areas of the discipline. ILR students may enroll in any course offered by the Department of Economics for which they meet the prerequisites.


M. Lovenheim, chair; J. Stoye, assoc. chair; D. Miller, assoc. chair; R. Smith, labor econ coord.; G. Jakubson, director of undergraduate studies; L. Barseghyan, director of graduate studies; C. Barrett, P. Barwick, K. Basu, M. Battaglini, M. Belot, F. Blau, L. Blume, N. Bottan, G. Boyer, C. Carey, J. Caunedo, J. Cawley, S. Coate, J. Cunningham, T. Denti, D. Easley, T. Evans, G. Fields, M. Fitzpatrick, R. Geddes, K. Hallock, G. Hay, C. Huckfeldt, R. Hutchens, L. Kahn, R. Kanbur,  A. Karolyi, M. Kapustin, D. Kenkel, N. Kiefer, P. Kircher, P. Leung, S. Malladi, A. Mathios, D. McKee, F. Molinari, S. Nicholson, K. Nimark, T. O’Donoghue, G. Orlov, E. Patacchini, Z. Pei, E. Prasad, C. Qiu, E. Riehl, N. Sanders, S. Sanders, M. Taschereau-Dumouchel, S. Tennyson, S. Thomas, B. Tripp, L. Vilhuber, J. Wissink, N. Ziebarth. Emeritus: J. Abowd, R. Arsonson, T. E. Davis, R. Ehrenberg, Y. Hong, T. Lyons, M. Majumdar, R. Masson, P. D. McClelland, K. Shell, E. Thorbecke, H. Y. Wan, Jr.